Events & News

Upcoming Conference Events


May 18 – 20, 2021 (Tuesday – Thursday)
Federation of New York Solid Waste Associations ‘Virtual’ Conference with Trade Show
Information and Registration

Sept 26 – 28, 2021
NYSASWM 2021 Fall Conference
Harbor Hotel, 1000 Islands, Clayton, NY
Conference Information
On-Line Registration

Rich Bills Elected President

Rich Bills of Steuben County was elected to a 2-year term as president at the recent annual fall conference in Lake Placid.

Rich moved up from the vice president position he has held for the past year. He has worked for Steuben County since mid-2008. His first role there was in environmental compliance, eventually expanding that role to include landfill gas and recycling. He currently operates the County’s leachate pretreatment facility, overseeing staff members while continuing to manage the County’s recycling programs and landfill gas operation.

A graduate of SUNY Binghamton, he earned his Bachelor of Science in Biology, then took a position in the private sector in hazardous waste management. He joined the Board of Directors in 2011, in the West, Region 2 position.

Mark Powell, P.E., director of solid waste programs in Oswego County, was elected as vice president.  A board representative since 2016, he served in an At-Large position before most recently representing the Central 1 region.

Amy Miller, P.E., director of the Madison County Department of Solid Waste, was elected as secretary.  She previously served as an At-Large Director.

Sue McIntyre was re-elected as treasurer for her third 2-year term.

Board representatives were also elected:

Matt McGarry, P.E., moved from secretary to an At-Large position.  He works for the Town of Colonie Department of Public Works in environmental services.

Bill Rabbia, executive director of the Oneida-Herkimer Solid Waste Authority was also elected to an At-Large position.  He returns to the board after having served as Central 2 representative, secretary, vice president, and president from 2015 to 2018.

Charles Sudbrink is new to the board, as he was elected as representative to the Central 1 region.  He is the superintendent of highways for Cortland County.

Returning board members who were re-elected were:

David B. Rhodes, Director for the Fulton County Department of Solid Waste – Director North 1

Stephen Acquario, Esq., Executive Director of NYSAC – At-Large.

Sarah Dolinar – Solid Waste Management Director, Environmental Review with the NYC Department of Sanitation – Director South 1

Steve Orcutt, who works as Assistant Commissioner-Landfill for the Steuben County DPW – Director West 1.  Steve has been a board member since 2008.

Incoming officers and board directors took the oath of office which was given by Robert Phaneuf, P.E., of NYSDEC Albany.

Madison County Renewable Energy Project

PFAS and Your Local Landfill – Managing Risks & Preparing for Regulations


Solid Waste Achievement Award nomination

The solid waste achievement award is designed to recognize an outstanding leader in the field of solid waste, or an outstanding program. This is a way to bring exceptional programs to the attention of members throughout the state.

The individual awarded (or one representative from the awarded agency) will receive a plaque and a free registration to either the March training course, or fall conference, their choice.

Nominees will be reviewed by the Executive Committee of the NYSASWM board, and the award will take place at the fall conference.

Please use this form for for your nominations.